Disney Family's First Universal Trip - We survived President's Week and Mardi Gras crowds! (Complete!)

skuttle

DIS Veteran
INTRODUCTION and OVERVIEW

I've never done a trip report before, but I couldn't read enough of them while planning our first Universal trip, so thought I'd make a contribution!

After going to WDW almost every year since our 2000 honeymoon, including a trip to Disneyland in California a few years ago, we decided to take a chance on a Universal trip. Our crew includes DH and I (mid-40s) and our 3 DS (19, 12, and 10). DH and I did one Universal day (both parks) 5 years ago before a cruise with friends, but mainly focused on Harry Potter. DS19 did one Universal day (both parks) on a band trip about 5 years ago as well, but with only one day and no EP, he didn't get much done. Younger two boys had never been. We all love thrill rides and ride everything at WDW and DL. DH is a bigger guy, so knew going in he wouldn't be able to ride several things, but he still had an enjoyable trip and would go back. I was afraid of getting motion sickness. Ratatouille made me queasy in January so I was worried I'd get sick, but never did. I did learn quickly that while my now 45yo self can still ride coasters, I cannot ride a coaster back to back. LOL!

Our trip took place February 19-23, 2023. We chose this week because our schools were off the week for Mardi Gras. DH is a teacher, DS19 in college, DS12 is in his first year of middle school, and DS10 struggles a bit, so I hated for any of them to miss school! We were expecting huge crowds due to the combined holidays of President's Week and Mardi Gras, but figured we'd make the best of it. We thought we'd have mild weather, but it was hot (upper 80s every day).